Sign of the Times?

Last weekend, I attended an event in Maryland (Artomatic) with over 300 artists displaying their creations. The last time we attended this event was in 2009. I’m not sure how relevant this is, but I saw a lot less Obama artwork this time around. To be precise: I saw one.¹ Batman, Doctor Who, and Mister Spock were better represented² than Dear Leader.

¹ And it was a simple portrait, without Messianic imagery or unicorns.
² Or at least, more numerously represented. “Better” is a rather subjective term, especially when applied to paintings of Mr. Spock’s “special relationship” with Captain James Tiberius Kirk.

Update: The picture I took of that exhibit is below the cut (also contains two nudes). I re-read the sign under the Obama portrait and looked up the artist: Christopher Madden is the Chief Engraver of the Bureau of Engraving and Printing, who has created the artwork on American currency (and hence, has worked on portraits of other presidents – and Benjamin Franklin – as well). This was an official portrait; so, there wasn’t any Obama “fan art” at the show this year.

I didn’t compose this shot very well, and also caught a reflection of myself in the glass over the portrait of Obama. I put more time and effort into photographing the Batman art.

2 Responses to “Sign of the Times?”

  1. LC Aggie Sith Says:

    The nudes are very nice. I like the one sitting best.

    So, where are the pics of Batman art??

    • RoboMonkey Says:

      The nudes are very nice. I like the one sitting best.

      Yeah, I decided I had done the artist a disservice by initially writing him off; which is why I added the update with the pictures and the links.

      So, where are the pics of Batman art??

      I have posted any of the other exhibits yet; and when I do, it won’t be here. I’ll try to give you a pointer or something when I do.

Comments are closed.


