Obama Takes Care of His Own

According to the National Review‘s (H/T: AllahPundit) analysis of recipient report data from Recovery.gov, as well as economic and political data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the Census Bureau, and GovTrack.us, there was

no statistical correlation for all relevant unemployment indicators and the allocation of funds. This suggests that unemployment is not the factor leading the awards. Also, I found no correlation between other economic indicators, such as income, and stimulus funding. … On average, Democratic districts received one-and-a-half times as many awards as Republican ones. Democratic districts also received two-and-a-half times more stimulus dollars than Republican districts ($122,127,186,509 vs. $46,139,592,268). Republican districts also received smaller awards on average. (The average dollars awarded per Republican district is $260,675,663, while the average dollars awarded per Democratic district is $471,533,539.)

On the other hand, I live in a heavily Democratic district (my representative is the House Majority Leader), so let me tell you that receiving all of this money (the district, not me!) is no bed of roses either. In the last year they’ve ripped up and repaved just about every road in my area – in some cases, more than once. I guess that’s what happens when you run out of roads before you run out of pork.

Pissing me off: my stimulus tax dollars at work!

2 Responses to “Obama Takes Care of His Own”

  1. centaur Says:

    Funny sign — and so true. I road trip a lot. All these lanes are closed, and it’s not even that workers are standing around not working, there are no workers in sight! And a nice new metallic sign about every 100 yards reminding you that this is “your stimulus money at work”!

    • RoboMonkey Says:

      I road trip a lot too, and there are some places that seem to be constantly worked on… Or at least, as you say, closed off without a worker in sight.

Comments are closed.


