Google Again

Just after my last Google post, a new bit of “interesting” news about the “Don’t be evil” search engine has arose. Google search has an feature where you can start typing in your search key, and Google will suggest common ways in which that key can be auto-completed. Since the suggestions it provides are due to the numbers of web hits and whatever other eyes of newt go into Google’s secret algorithms, you can never be completely sure what suggestions you’ll get … but you’ll always get something. Until now.

And just in case Google takes that video down (I had great difficulty getting another video on the topic to play; everything else on YouTube played fine for me, but this other “Islam is” video page came up broken, and told me that I must not be running the latest version of Flash), here’s a collection of screen captures showing you what suggestions someone else got when they typed in these religions to Google.

In response to accusations of “favoritism”, a spokesperson for Google says “This is a bug and we’re working to fix it as quickly as we can.

9 Responses to “Google Again”

  1. pirahna Says:

    Hmm, I just found out “Buddism is” is also nothing.

  2. pirahna Says:

    Damn, I spelt it wrong
    *BLUSH*

  3. pirahna Says:

    spelling doesn’t matter for names anymore!

    • RoboMonkey Says:

      Obviously, since the Democrat running for the empty seat (I will not say “Ted Kennedy’s seat”) in Massachusetts can’t spell the word “Massachusetts” (or at least hires people who can’t).

    • DustBunny Says:

      Isn’t Marcia Coakley running for that seat? ;P

      So excited about tomorrow’s election. I hope we don’t get a lump of coakley in our stocking.

  4. pirhana Says:

    How dare you compare me in the slightest to a Democrat, sir?!?!?

    • RoboMonkey Says:

      On the plus side, I just went back and checked. Google fixed the “bug” which was causing “Climategate” to not show up in the autocomplete list.

  5. DustBunny Says:

    *squeeeeeee!*

Comments are closed.


