Who Brings a Snowball to a Gunfight?

I grew up in the North, so I love snow. I know how to prepare for it, how to walk in it, how to ski on it, how to drive in it, and so on. I even enjoyed a couple of hours of shoveling it yesterday. However, while that isn’t at all unusual in the Northeast, it makes me practically unique in the DC area. As you may have seen (on the news or in person), the DC area got hit with over a foot and a half of global warming yesterday. People from other parts of the country (or the world – hello, Canada!) don’t believe me when I tell them how batshit insane people in the DC area get over snow. Sure, lots of people would panic over 20 inches of the white stuff, but people here panic over mere inches of it. Worse, they panic over the merest possible forecast of snow; I’ve seen people planning to take sick days over forecasts before single flake hit the ground (up North when I was a kid, they didn’t cancel school until there was already at least a foot on the roads). And don’t even get me started about the drivers!

Still, a cop pulling out his gun because of a snowball fight seems a bit over the top even considering both the snow-induced insanity of the region, and the generally incompetent and unaccountable nature of DC’s “finest”.

A plainclothes police detective allegedly pulled his gun out and waved it at a large group of people in a snowball fight at the corner of 14th and U Saturday afternoon. The incident began when a plain-clothes detective approached the crowd of people throwing snowballs and got into a verbal altercation with members of the crowd, according to police. …the police officer identifies himself as “Detective Baylor” and in response to someone saying that he pulled a gun on a snowball fight he says: “Yes, I did because I got hit with snowballs.”

And yet, it’s the citizens of DC who can’t be trusted with guns.

